Profile: Jane Poveromo

Alonso

Jane backstage at SiP's "The Tempest" (courtesy of R.Whitehouse 2009)

How long have you been involved in Theatre?

I have been involved in the Bahamas since 1983.

What inspired you to become involved?

I was trying to get my ‘foot in the door’ for a long time. I played Toad in Toad of Toad Hall in Primary school and that got the juices going. I did some stuff in college too. When I came to Nassau marriage got in the way. Then by chance I went to pick up Sammy Bethel from a rehearsal at the Dundas for Witness for the Prosecution and Warren Jones put a script in my hand and asked me to read and I got the part of the judge.

 
In what capacity (ies) do you participate in Theatre? 

I’m an actor. My first audition for Philip Burrows was for The Dark of the Moon and until Patti Anne-Ali came down in 2009 I never had to audition for a part again. I have been in over 20 productions at the Dundas and one at COB, our first Bahamian Macbeth. I have also done pantomime and worked with Keith Wisdom. I was also part of the group who performed at the Edinburgh Festival in 1991 and travelled to Freeport for a couple of productions.

Can you list the productions that you have participated in over the years?

Judge in Witness for the Prosecution (1983),
Mrs Summery in Dark of the Moon (1984),
small role, chorus, dancer in Mother Goose (1985),
Rose Kirk in Nuts (1986),
Vera in Stepping Out (1986),
Baroness Roach in Cinderella (1987),
Martha in The Rimers of Eldritch (1987),
Woman 3 in I Nehemiah Remember When (1987),
Blanche in Brighton Beach Memoirs (1988),
Teacher in You Can Lead a Horse to Water (1988),
Woman 3 in Nehemiah part 2 (1989),
Dis we Tings (1989),
Mother in True West (1989),
Evil Queen in Snow White (1989),
Blues for Mr Charlie (1990),
Dis We Tings  2 (1990),
Teacher in You Can Lead a Horse to Water at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and the Dundas (1991),
Woman 3 in Nehemiah part3 (1992),
Music of The Bahamas (1992),
Mrs Shandig in The Runner Stumbles (Dansa award) (1993),
Betty Meeks in The Foreigner (Dansa award) (1994),
Gwendolyn Pigeon in The Odd Couple (Dansa award) (1995),
Woman 3 in Nehemiah part 4 (1998),
Witch/Porter in Macbeth (2001 & 2004),
Daisy Werthan in Driving Miss Daisy (2008),
Michaela Alonso-Naples-Sands in The Tempest (Shakespeare in Paradise) (2009),
Matilda Quince in A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare in Paradise) (2010)

Jane backstage at "The Tempest" (courtesy of J. Poveromo 2009)

What are some of your most memorable moments in Theatre?

Memorable moments….mmmm?… have to think about that.

Who were your mentors in Theatre?

My mentor of course is Philip Burrows. Theatre was on fire for years while he was doing rep. Now hopefully with SiP it will take off again.

What is your favorite Bahamian play?
And my favourite Bahamian play is You Can Lead a Horse to Water.
In your years as an actor, have you seen the government support the arts in a tangible way?

Government support….not really. They need to respect theatre and the arts the same as they do sports but fat chance!

Leave a Reply

